Thrift store happiness!

So, in the words of Monty Python: and now for something completely different. I am going to rave about my love of thrift stores.

I adore thrift shopping. There’s nothing I enjoy more than spending an afternoon with a friend strolling amongst the racks. Because here’s the thing. You don’t know what you might find. I’ve some wonderful clothes, including beautiful 60’s dresses, a Versace dress, a 1940’s silk scarf, and a great dip-dye hippy dress – all from my monthly thrift outings.

I rarely buy new these days. Basics, such as a couple of summer t-shirts, maybe a winter jumper and cardi, but that’s it. Most of my wardrobe is pre-loved. And don’t even get me started on the jeans! Nothing is nicer than a pair of well worn in jeans that you can pick up at a pinch of the price they’d be new.

My only regret is that I’m not very good at ‘make do and mend’ so can’t alter things. I see so many lovely items that I imagine would look great with a hem picked up here, or a tuck there, but don’t have the know how to do so. One of my bucket list items is to buy a sewing machine and damn well learn to sew.

I’ve recently discovered some of the wonderful stores on Etsy that sell gorgeous vintage items so there might be the odd post showing things I’d love to own (like the vintage silk, Hermes scarf one shop has for sale).

A lot of people won’t give thrift or charity stores a second glance, but often once they try it they are smitten. I’ve recently converted two friends who are now as addicted as me! And that’s a win 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

