Things I am learning as a soon to be published writer – part one!

Wow! And I thought the writing of the book was the hard part! The moment you get that ‘yes we like your book’ email from a publisher – isn’t the moment the hard work ends. It’s when it really begins.

Of course there’s all the stuff you expect. Editing. More editing. Final proofs, etc. But then there’s all the things you don’t expect. Or, at least, I didn’t. Like, how quickly you’ll have to sort out social media, marketing, a platform to get heard.

Sounds simple, right? But you can guarantee that nearly every day something new will come up. Today’s steep learning curve? Setting up a mailing list. I’ve spent ages looking at this today. It sounds simple. It’s not particularly – or not if you are technically challenged.

Then there’s the catch 22 moments. It’s best to have a website, or at least a blog, before you send your book out – but what do you write about when you’ve no book out yet? It’s hard to set up a Goodreads author page before you’ve got a book to put on there. Ditto with Amazon. If you’re not someone who finds these things easy then you can spend whole days in a state of ‘must get this done now’ mild panic once you do have the product available.

Not that I’m moaning. This is a dream come true – and even the hard days – the ones where I spend six hours trying to learn some new techie skills – and failing – have been exciting. I love learning new things and it’s great knowing how to set up a word press blog, or even how to properly use track changes!

And I couldn’t have done any of it without the help of all the other authors I have met along the way. People who have spent time they probably didn’t have to help a newbie learn the ropes. Who patiently answered my – at times very silly – questions. Who talked me off the ledge when I was having a moment of panic.

So to my crit partners, writing group, the Diva’s, fandom friends, other authors at my publisher, and all the others I have met along the way. Tonight when I have a glass of wine, I’ll raise it to you šŸ™‚

Also – if you fancy winning some money to spend on books – don’t forget to check out our Hottie Hunt!! holiday bonanza pic

6 thoughts on “Things I am learning as a soon to be published writer – part one!

  1. I really enjoyed this! I’ve published a couple of books and I am only know figuring out some things about blogging and promotion. Luckily, it’s kinda fun to learn šŸ™‚ Congratulations on the forthcoming book!

  2. This is so true! When I was starting out, all I could think of was being published. There is a really steep learning curve after a writer signs the contract. And while you’re coping with this, you have to write the next book too. Don’t worry. You’ll get there. Just make a list and deal with things one at a time. Congrats on your upcoming book šŸ™‚

    • Thanks for the comment, Shelley. And yes, I think a list is a good idea. I tend to get distracted by the latest thing in my inbox and then forget all my plans for the day. Organization is key!! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

